Super League play-offs revamped

on December 8, 2008 by Administrator

Last weekend, the Rugby Football League revealed that it was to introduce major changes to the Super League play-offs. These changes will be introduced next season and officials revealed that all fourteen clubs have been informed of the alterations. One of the biggest changes will see the highest-placed team after the first round able to pick their opponents for the semi-final in week three.

Furthermore, following the expansion of the league to include two extra clubs, the series, which lasts for four weeks and ends in October, will involve the top eight teams.

The format will now be as follows: the eight qualifying teams will play on the opening weekend, with the leaders of the League meeting the team in fourth position, and the second and third teams competing against each other as well. In addition, the fifth placed team will play the eighth placed team and sixth will come up against seventh.

The winners of the games which involve the top four clubs will progress straight to the third week and the qualifying semi-finals. However, the losers will face the winners of the elimination play-offs.

During the third week, the teams successful in week one’s qualifying play-offs will come up against the winners from the second week. The highest-placed team will also be able to pick from one of two opponents.

The eight team play-off series is a

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Name and email are required.